top of page
  • Writer's pictureEQAS

AS 4801 to ISO 45001 Migration

Updated: Nov 24, 2021

National management system standard AS/NZS 4801:2001 (Occupational health and safety management systems) has recently been superseded by the international standard AS/NZS ISO 45001:2018 (Occupational Health and Safety).

Key Points

  • The new occupational health and safety (OH&S) standard, ISO 45001, was published in March 2018. It intends to improve workplace safety standards, reduce occupational injuries and diseases, and protect physical and mental health.

  • ISO 45001 has been adopted as a national standard by more than 70 countries across 5 continents, including Australia and New Zealand. This means Standards Australia and Standards New Zealand have now both officially replaced AS/NZ 4801:2001 with AS/NZS ISO 45001:2018.

  • The safety standard AS/NZS 4801:2001 will require migration to AS/NZS ISO 45001:2018 within the next 2 years according to The International Accreditation Forum's (IAF) Requirements

  • JAS-ANZ accredited certification to AS/NZS 4801 will no longer be available after 13 July 2023. Following this date, JAS-ANZ accredited certification to AS/NZS 4801 will not be available without documented evidence of an imposed requirement (e.g., local jurisdiction legislation or contractual obligation).

  • The transition to ISO 45001 should be made by organisations as soon as practicable, without undue delay.

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page